The Value of Shock

So we read some poetry today and as I soon as I skimmed it I knew I didn’t want to write about it, well I changed my mind. I’m not going to get into the content because it’s bad, but I am going to talk about why it is so bad.

Okay, so we read this poem called “The Imperfect Enjoyment” by John Wilmont, and it was shocking to say the least! It had a lot of curse words and it had really graphic depictions of a ‘rendez-vous’. We talked about why Wilmont might have made his poem so shocking and I agree with my teachers conclusion that he didn’t care. It didn’t matter to him whether or not people liked him or whether they bought his poems.

Today this is not the case. Today, artists like musicians, painters, filmmakers and actors use shock to get our attention and grab us. We buy so many things because they are shocking and they stand out from the rest. I can’t figure out why we do this. How much sex is too much sex. Sex in TV, movies, music, and fashion. How many ridiculous outfits are we going to put up with from fashion designers and celebrities like Lady Gaga and others?

I think this was true 300 years ago and it is true today…we like to be shocked, we like to be able to say we didn’t see this coming, and with “The Imperfect Enjoyment” I most certainly did not see that coming!

Thoughts, Questions, Rebuttals?!?!

