Souls and Stuff!

After reading Marlowe’s Doctor Faustus, and talking to one of my friends about the idea of your soul I’ve got a couple ideas to share about this topic. Before I get into this I have to warn you, I grew up in church my whole life, and I wholeheartedly believe about the power of forgiveness and that repentance is there for anyone who wants it.

Now to the good stuff.

I was thinking about this idea that Faustus wanted to repent, and he didn’t. I think that if you are at a point where you are selling your soul to the devil you might not really care about repenting to live a normal life again. I believe that God forgives everything but I don’t think you would go to all the trouble of selling your soul and then change your mind.

I watch this show called Supernatural, and this past season one of the character’s lost his soul somehow. In the end his brother had to force him to take his soul again because he didn’t want it back. If you don’t have your soul why would you have any desire to give it back. I believe that without a soul you wouldn’t care about repenting. The only reason that Doctor Faustus talks about repenting is when he thinks about how it will one day end and he will have to go to hell with the devil.

In the end I think that a person without a soul is only concerned without what they want and when they want it. It has always been my belief that our souls make us who we are, and without them we would be fundamentally different. I think this story is very relevant when talking about how people lose their way, but in the end Doctor Faustus never gets back to who he was. Which is tragic, and thats how the story ends. I liked this story,  but I wish that he would have learned that it wasn’t worth it.

Bye!

Thoughts, Questions, Rebuttals?!?!

